Chesterfield Drama Festival 1988

Year: 1988

Start Date: 2 June

End Date: 4 June

Production Company: Chesterfield Amateur Drama Federation Affiliated to National Drama Festivals Association



Author: See cast section as there is a variety of plays for adjudication.

Director: See cast section.Adjudicator-Irene Rostron G.O.D.A.President Laurie Watts.


Belper Players Dramatic Society

"Shadows" - Josephine Carter

Director - Audrey Nicholas

Erica Strong - Margaret Poolley

Susan Peak - Stella Howitt

Anne Strong - Lorraine Annable

Martin Strong - Steve Adams

The Woman - Joyce Towle

The Man - John Harrington

Dr Blake - Dennis Stone

Peacock Players - Bakewell

"Gosforth's Fete" - Alan Ayckbourn

Director - Russell Eaton

Mrs Pearce - Linden Trepess

Milly - Beth Rose/Sasha Bullock

Gosforth - Richard Corkhill

Vicar - Martyn Beckett

Stewart - Russell Eaton

Belper Players Dramatic Society

"One Season's King" - George MacEwan Green

Director Audrey Nicholas

Eveline - Lorraine Annable 

Charles - John Harrington

Edward - Stephen Grimwade

Sam - Steve Adams

Sheffield University Staff Dramatic Society

"The Bear" - Anton Chekov

Director - Frank Whitehead

Elena Popova - Helen McCallum

Grigorii Smirnov - Bill Royston

Luka - Michael Paul

Workmen -

George Mongay

Gary Wilson

Stephen Wilson

Simon Ball

Allestree Theatre Group

"In Time" - Carole A Challis

Director Carole A Challis

Prisoner - Pat Tidsall

Lynne - Ann Wood

Bob - Martin Drake

Vera - Mary Cos

Albert - Mark Tennant

Hedon Drama Group

"Spot the Difference"

Director - Heather Hobson

Toby - Hugh Martin

Shirl - Caroline Wheeer

Agnes - Jean Bateson

Rod - Paul Metcalfe

Georgie - Clare Thompson

Deb - Dianne Rudd

May - Ann Gwinnell

Maud - Sarah Wood

Mary - Vicky Pateson

Harry - Christopher Gwinnell

Dave - Ian Broadwell

Tanya - Sue Beacock

Lesley - Pat Brown

Set - Sue Wilson

Sound and Lighting - Alistair Brown

Fortune Theatre Group Merseyside

"A Separate Peace" - Tom Stoppard

Director Debbi Davies

John Brown - Brian Sumner 

Nurse - Lynda Hughes

Doctor - David Tolcher

Nurse Maggie Coates - Chris Mason

Matron - Margaret Lee 

Nurse Jones - Janine White

Hasland Playgoers

"Streuth" - Michael Green

Director - Andrew Davie

Inspector - B Downey

Mr D'Arcy - A Jones

Mrs D'Arcy - P Bradley

Hubert - A Round

Major - B Vincent

James - D Wilkins

Cook - H Wilie

Vicar - C David

Sergent - P Sooper

Prompt - N Wilkins

Fortune Theatre Group Merseyside

"Womberang" - Sue Townsend

Director - Olive Clark

Rita - Ann Welsby

Clerk -Olive Clark

Dolly - Avril Hughes

Mrs Connerlly - Lynda Hughes

Mrs Lovett - Gaynor Thomas

Audrey Lemon - Sue Burton

Lynda - Angela Tolcher

Mrs Cornwallis - Margaret Lee

James Lemon -Brian Sumner

Mr Riley - Danny Cunning



Background to Production:


Items of Interest in the Programme:

Background information about the adjudicator.

Other items / issues of interest:

The mayor was welcomed to the Sunday performances and the results were announced.